[COSPLAY WIP] Embroidery – Uguisumaru

I have been working on this costume for a some time. This is the 2nd time I attempt/make modern-style clothes, the first being a jacket that is… lost for ever. Well, this is the happy blog, so I do not dwell on unfortunates here. It is a challenge as I fought with the pattern. I have yet had a complete grasp of the pattern yet, even though it is a pretty simple pattern. At the end of the day, I decided that I am going to blog this because I believe in the journey in which I had took to make this. This will be a good memory after I am done with it.

First, let me show you the first attempt (where the embroidery) is half complete. It was a failure as the collar was too big, and I was just blindly making the outfit. At the end of the day, I decided that I really do not want to wear it without the proper size of collar, so I stopped embroidery work just to undo all the necessary stitches and redo the collar.

BEFORE vs AFTER

Screen Shot 2015-10-10 at 9.38.07 pmScreen Shot 2015-10-10 at 9.37.54 pm

These were taken with the trashy computer front camera, so the quality is…. bad.

After I am done with the blouse again, I move onto the embroidery again. What a pain in the fingers. These golden threads where hard to use – super thin and not smooth, they broke or tangle so easily! I am glad to be finally done. I am really impressed with people who do loads of embroidery with their cosplays (also those who make costumes from scratch as that is what I am starting to do). What a load of patience and skills you guys have!

ugu2

By then, my fingers no longer have the strength to push the needle through the cloth. It was also clogged with stitches! So I had to push with the table, or the blouse itself.

ugu3

Then, I had to pull the needle out using the plier. The same steps over and over again.

ugu1

See how red my forefinger? It was not cos I am holding the plier. My finger is constantly in this state when I am doing this embroidery.

ugug5

The end product. Looks more like a turkey than a small cute bird. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

